Publish Date: February 20, 2024

Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, Inaugurates Two Academic Complexes at IIT Delhi

Share this on

(Photo: Newly Constructed Academic Complex at IIT Delhi)

New Delhi: The Hon'ble Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi, inaugurated the newly constructed Academic Complex East and Academic Complex West at IIT Delhi’s Hauz Khas campus through video conferencing on Tuesday. This is the largest ever single-time construction activity for research and academic purposes in the history of IIT Delhi.

Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi, Minister of State for External Affairs and Culture, Government of India, graced an event organised at the Institute on this occasion. The event also witnessed the presence of eminent scientists from various organisations, BoG members, Building and Works Committee (BWC) members, faculty, staff and students of the Institute.

The two multi-storey complexes are developed at a cost of Rs. 260 crores, with a plinth area of over 60,000 square meters and have come up as an addition to the existing academic area on the campus.

(Photo: Newly Constructed Academic Complex at IIT Delhi)

Prof. Rangan Banerjee, Director, IIT Delhi, expressed his gratitude to the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi for inaugurating the newly developed academic infrastructure at the Institute.

“The two academic complexes that have been inaugurated today by the Hon’ble Prime Minister will strengthen the existing academic and research facilities on the campus. The Institute is known for the cutting-edge research done by faculty and students. The new research facilities in these two academic blocks will help us reaching new heights”, said Prof. Rangan Banerjee, Director, IIT Delhi.

(Photo: Smt. Meenakshi Lekhi, Minister of State for External Affairs and Culture, Visiting One of the Research Facilities at the Complex)

The East and West Complex will host more than 20 academic units of the Institute including School of AI, School of Public Policy, Department of Design, Department of Textile and Fibre, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Department of Material Science and Engineering, Department of Mathematics, Department of Energy Science and Engineering, School of Biological Sciences, Centre for Biomedical Engineering, Department of Biotechnology, Centre for Automative Research and Tribology, Department of Electrical Engineering, Department of Physics, Department of Chemistry, Centre of Excellence on Cyber Security, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Central Workshop, School of Inter-disciplinary Research, and Central Research Facilities.

More than 300 research-cum-teaching labs focusing on research and development in the areas of Energy, Environment and Sustainability, Artificial Intelligence and Data Science, Advanced Materials and Devices, MedTech & Healthcare, 5G/IoT/Communication, Quantum Technologies, Electric Mobility, Biological Sciences, Healthcare and many other frontier areas of technological and scientific research will be set up in the two complexes.

The two academic complexes also have 200 faculty offices, ten committee rooms, thirteen conference rooms, and other facilities like faculty lounges and departmental library.